h1

Hello, I’m Jack the Beagle.

March 25, 2008

Running through the woods is my favorite pastime, although sleeping on Mom’s side of the bed pulls a very close second. I love to bay…it’s what I do. I will bay to tell you I’m happy, and bay to tell you I’m mad…I’ll bay to let you know the possums are back in the yard, and bay to tell you they’re gone. You can count on me to bay all day and all night, and if you don’t hear me bay it means I’m up to no good.

I came to live in Austin in April 2007, riding the car down from Dallas during a freak Easter blizzard that blanketed the entire city of Waco in snow. Waco is where the big hand-off happened that sent me from one sister’s house to another and landed me in the cushy Austin pad I share today with Townes the Lab, Burns the cranky orange cat, Zelda the mysterious tuxedo cat, and Max the feisty old barn cat.

My new Mom is good for snuggling and wrestling, but don’t nip at her or she will bear her teeth and growl at you. Pop is good for treats, food and trips to the park; not so much for wrestling and if he catches me barking he’ll spray me with the cayenne pepper water. His behavior is a bit strange, but nothing so strange as his crazy mustache.

It’s a good life. Enjoy the ride.

Leave a comment